Featured image credit: Image: Sevenethics via Wikimedia Commons (CC0). Source

By Piyush P. Yadav

Almost nothing. That is the short answer to “which Indian company makes the cells in my electric car.” Every mainstream EV sold in India today runs on cells manufactured outside the country — BYD for Mahindra and Maruti, Gotion and EVE for Tata, imported LFP for MG, imported NMC for Hyundai. What is Indian is the pack: Mahindra assembles in-house, MG builds at Halol, Hyundai assembles at Chennai with Mobis, Maruti’s packs come together at the TDSG plant in Gujarat, and Tata splits between Tata AutoComp and Octillion. Knowing which is which tells you more about warranty, replacement cost and supply risk than any brochure spec.

How we worked this out

Cell sourcing is disclosed inconsistently. Manufacturers publish pack capacity and chemistry; they rarely name the cell maker, and the information that exists is scattered across supplier features, plant-opening reports and trade press. So we built this table from primary reporting on each brand rather than from any single list: Autocar Professional’s component-supplier breakdown of Mahindra’s BEVs, Autocar India on Hyundai’s Chennai pack plant and on Maruti’s BYD Blade sourcing, CarWale’s factory feature on MG’s Halol battery line, and Business Standard’s reporting on Tata’s move to Octillion. Every row was checked on 12 September 2026. Where a manufacturer has not disclosed its cell supplier, we say “not disclosed” rather than guessing — and where sources disagree on cell format, we have left the format out rather than print a detail we cannot stand behind.

The table

Car Chemistry Cell maker Pack assembled by Where
Mahindra BE 6 / XEV 9e LFP (BYD Blade) BYD Mahindra, in-house India
Maruti e Vitara LFP (BYD Blade) BYD TDSG (Toshiba–Denso–Suzuki JV) Gujarat
Tata Nexon EV 30 kWh LFP Gotion Tata AutoComp India
Tata Nexon EV 45 / Curvv EV 45 LFP EVE Octillion Power Systems Pune
Tata Curvv EV 55 kWh LFP Gotion Tata AutoComp India
Hyundai Creta Electric NMC Not disclosed — imported Hyundai with Mobis India Chennai
MG Windsor EV Pro LFP Not disclosed — imported MG, in-house Halol, Gujarat
MG Comet EV LFP Not disclosed — imported MG, in-house Halol, Gujarat

What each row actually means

Mahindra: BYD cells, Mahindra pack

Autocar Professional’s supplier breakdown for the BE 6e and XEV 9e is unusually specific. BYD supplies lithium-iron-phosphate Blade cells, arranged in a cell-to-module format with 16 cells per module, feeding the 59 kWh and 79 kWh packs. Mahindra then assembles those into an aluminium casing in-house. The rest of the electric drivetrain is Valeo — inverter, transmission and a motor spinning to 16,000 rpm — with Bosch supplying the localised vehicle control unit and the on-board charger DC-DC module. So yes: your Mahindra electric SUV runs on BYD cells, in a Mahindra pack, behind a Valeo motor. Our deep dive on Mahindra’s EV portfolio covers where that platform goes next.

Maruti: BYD cells, Suzuki-JV pack

The e Vitara uses BYD LFP cells in 49 kWh and 61 kWh packs, assembled at the TDSG joint-venture facility in Gujarat — the Suzuki, Toshiba and Denso battery venture. It is the closest thing India has to a domestic pack ecosystem at scale, and it is still importing the cells.

Tata: the most complicated answer

Tata deliberately multi-sources, so “who makes a Tata EV’s battery” has no single answer — it depends on the variant. The 30 kWh Nexon EV pack comes from Tata AutoComp using Gotion cells. The 45 kWh packs on the Nexon EV and Curvv EV come from Octillion Power Systems, a US-headquartered supplier with a facility in Pune, using cells from EVE. The 55 kWh Curvv EV pack goes back to Tata AutoComp with Gotion cells. All of Tata’s electric cars use LFP.

This matters practically. Two cars wearing the same badge in the same showroom can have packs from different suppliers with different service chains behind them, which is one reason replacement pricing is so hard to pin down — see our piece on what EV battery replacement actually costs in India and what is verified. It will also change: Tata’s own cell ambitions run through the Agratas gigafactory at Sanand.

Hyundai: local pack, imported NMC cells

Hyundai opened a battery pack assembly line inside its Chennai plant with Mobis India, with an annual capacity of 75,000 units in phase one and the ability to assemble both NMC and LFP packs. The Creta Electric’s 42 kWh and 51.4 kWh packs are built there. The cells are NMC and are not locally made; Hyundai has not named a local cell supplier. The Exide tie-up intended to change that has slipped, which we track in our India cell manufacturing scorecard.

MG: in-house packs at Halol, imported LFP cells

CarWale’s factory feature puts the numbers on the record: MG builds its packs entirely in-house at Halol in Gujarat, using imported LFP cells. The Comet EV pack is 17.3 kWh from 36 cells; the Windsor Pro is 52.9 kWh from 98 cells. MG has not named the cell supplier.

Why chemistry, not brand, is the useful signal

Notice how the chemistry column splits. Every Indian-market car in the table except the Creta Electric runs LFP. That is not an accident: LFP tolerates heat better, does not use cobalt, accepts routine charging to 100 percent, and is cheaper per kWh — all of which suit Indian conditions and Indian price points. NMC buys energy density, which is why it turns up where range per kilo matters more than cost. If you want the full trade-off, our explainer on LFP versus NMC chemistry in Indian EVs goes through it properly.

The second signal is where the pack is assembled, because that determines how a warranty claim is serviced. A pack assembled in Chennai or Halol can be repaired at module level in India. A fully imported pack is a longer, costlier conversation.

The honest conclusion: India assembles, China supplies

Add the rows up and the picture is clear. India has built genuine pack-assembly capability in three years — Mahindra, MG, Hyundai, TDSG, Tata AutoComp and Octillion all now build packs on Indian soil. Cell manufacturing at automotive scale has not arrived. Every mainstream EV on sale here depends on Chinese or other imported cells, which is precisely why the EV battery supply chain and export-control story is the most consequential thing happening in Indian EVs right now.

Limitations

Cell sourcing changes without announcement. Manufacturers dual-source, switch suppliers mid-cycle and rarely issue a press release when they do, so a row that is correct for a car built in September 2026 may not describe one built next year. Several entries here say “not disclosed” because the manufacturer has not stated a cell supplier publicly, and we would rather leave a gap than fill it with a forum rumour. Do not use this table to make a warranty claim or to source a replacement pack — for that, ask your service centre for the pack part number on your specific VIN.

Sources & Further Reading

People also ask

Does Mahindra’s EV use a BYD battery?

Yes. Mahindra’s BE 6e and XEV 9e use BYD lithium-iron-phosphate Blade cells, arranged 16 to a module in a cell-to-module layout, in 59 kWh and 79 kWh packs. Mahindra assembles those cells into its own aluminium-cased pack in India, and pairs them with a Valeo motor, inverter and transmission.

Does Tata’s EV use a BYD battery?

No. Tata multi-sources from other suppliers: the 30 kWh Nexon EV and 55 kWh Curvv EV packs come from Tata AutoComp using Gotion cells, while the 45 kWh Nexon EV and Curvv EV packs come from Octillion Power Systems using EVE cells. All Tata electric cars use LFP chemistry.

Which EV battery is best in India?

For Indian conditions LFP is generally the better fit, and it is what almost every mainstream EV here uses. It handles heat better, contains no cobalt, can be routinely charged to 100 percent and costs less per kWh. NMC, as used in the Hyundai Creta Electric, offers higher energy density and therefore more range for a given pack weight.

Which EV battery is safest?

LFP has the stronger thermal-stability record, which is a large part of why it dominates the Indian market. But chemistry is only one factor: pack engineering, the battery management system and compliance with India’s AIS 156 safety standards matter at least as much as the cell chemistry printed on the spec sheet.

Are EV battery cells made in India?

Not yet at automotive scale. India has built real pack-assembly capacity — Mahindra in-house, MG at Halol, Hyundai with Mobis at Chennai, TDSG in Gujarat, Tata AutoComp and Octillion in Pune — but the cells inside those packs are imported. Domestic cell plants, including Tata’s Agratas facility at Sanand, are still ramping.

What are EV batteries made of?

The two chemistries on sale in India are LFP, which uses lithium, iron and phosphate in the cathode, and NMC, which uses nickel, manganese and cobalt. Both use lithium-ion cells with a graphite anode. LFP avoids cobalt entirely, which is one reason it is cheaper and less exposed to raw-material price swings.